I’ve often heard people saying “I love design, but I can’t be a designer because I don’t have a talent.” It seems like being a designer is reserved to a specific group of people with special abilities. After all, that’s the definition of talent, isn’t it?

However, it sounds to me like a pretty good excuse to not try too hard. One of the reasons is that we constantly compare ourselves to other people around us.

We call other designers talented when we look at their work after years and years of practice and experience. Their impressive projects get our attention and it may seem like it’s always been like that.

Every designer’s little secret.

Let me tell you a secret: every designer was an amateur in the beginning. Everyone had to start somewhere. Nobody became a great designer overnight. However, we don’t usually see the progress and the entire journey. We notice great people once they’re at the top.

I’ve never considered myself to be a great designer and I don’t even think I’m half way there, but I’ve recently been seeing more comments saying that I’m a “talented designer.”

An interesting thing is that nobody said I had talent 10 years ago. If I had some special abilities, wouldn’t people have been able to see them from the beginning?

In fact, I still remember feedback I received on one of my first designs that said I should focus on something else, because it seemed like design was not my thing.

Now, imagine how many of us might be discouraged from pursuing a designer’s career after hearing that kind of comment from someone whose opinion we value. Especially if we believe in the myth that you have to be born with a special talent to be a designer.

Source: http://rafaltomal.com/not-talented/

Graphic Design Solutions

Driven by making a strong visual impact, we combine various styles and techniques to answer any brief. Originating from the term ‘corpus callosum’, we facilitate the communication between creative yet logical design.

Source: https://www.callosumdesign.com/?ref=StoreYa&utm_campaign=storeya2&utm_medium=trafb&utm_source=stry

How can fabric, textile and style be digitised?

Web Design, eCommerce and Digital Marketing for Fashion, Luxury and Lifestyle Brands

We are a leading Digital Agency with offices in London and Rome. Since 2006, we have helped many businesses go digital. From luxury fashion brands to pharmaceutical companies, by way of accountancy firms, our expertise is lavish, and our know-how is enviable. As a leading Magento & eCommerce agency, we have a thorough knowledge of each of the following sectors, because the difference between a fancy sequin blouse and Paracetamol is actually quite big, in the digital world. Le plat du jour? Web design, branding, eCommerce, social media and digital marketing.

Source: http://www.appnova.com/?gclid=CMPdiayyqdMCFe4Q0wod1DkKMg

Leave a Reply

